2012 AO Convention Highlights

Font Size:
The 105th annual Alpha Omega International Dental Fraternity convention in Scottsdale, AZ, brought together fraters and their families from eight countries and 34 dental students representing twelve dental schools.

The fraternity installed new officers to its board of directors, presented two presidential citations, and three awards to individuals for their outstanding service to dentistry and Alpha Omega.

Fraternity Installations for 2013:
Marcy Schwartzman, D.M.D.          
Avi Wurman, D.D.S.                     
David Schneider, D.M.D.                
Michael Spektor, D.D.S.                  
Gail Schupak, D.M.D.               
Barry Reinblatt, D.D.S.                 
Lani Kraus, D.D.S.                          
Jessica Boudaie                             
Jeremiah Granados                          
Grigoriy Gelfand                             
Alan Moltz, D.D.S.                           
Sharon Perlmutter, D.D.S.              

International President
International President-Elect
International Treasurer
Immediate Past International President 
Regional Director - U.S.
Regional Director - Canada
Young Alumni Director
International Student Representative (USC)
International Student Representative (BU)
U.S. Foundation Representative (Columbia)
Convention Representative
2013 Convention Marshal

2012 Presidential Citations:
Dean Musa Bajali, D.D.S., PhD, Al-Quds Dental School, located in the Palestinian Authority, was honored for his outstanding leadership at the university and with the Alliance for Oral Health Across Borders.

S. Perry Brickman, D.D.S. of Atlanta, GA was honored for his work in exposing the anti-Semitism that pervaded the Emory University dental school throughout the 1950s, which included the unjust failing and/or expulsion of numerous Jewish dental students.

2012 Award Recipients:
Achievement Medal Award: Dean Adam Stabholz of the Hebrew University Hadassah School of Dental Medicine received the Alpha Omega Achievement Medal Award for his work as Dean and his Bridge for Peace campaign, in addition to his work with the Alliance for Oral Health Across Borders.

Meritorious Service Award: Allen Finkelstein, D.D.S. was presented with the Meritorious Service Award, which is given annually to an Alpha Omegan for exceptional and effective service to the fraternity.

Certificate of Merit: Steven Spitz, D.M.D. was presented with the Certificate of Merit, which is presented to a frater for outstanding and exemplary service at the international or chapter level of Alpha Omega for ten years.

Chapter Efficiency Award Winners: Montreal, Toronto, and Washington, D.C. alumni chapters; Buffalo, Columbia, Harvard, Louisville, and Toronto student chapters.

GOHI Challenge Award Winners: Montreal Alumni Chapter for the Ometz program; University of Detroit Mercy Alpha Nu Chapter for their AO Dental Mission program; and, Louisville Pi Chapter for the sculpture project.

GOHI Volunteer Project: Over 50 volunteers from AO enthusiastically participated in the Phoenix Salvation Army Christmas Dinner Program on December 25, 2012. The day brought together many local community volunteers to serve over 4,500 meals. The AO volunteers stood out with their green GOHI t-shirts set against red aprons.

Honorary Membership was presented to Ms. Julie Charlestein. Ms. Charlestein is the president of Premier Dental Products. Some of her charitable causes include DVI and Gives Kids a Smile and AO is proud to have Ms. Charlestein as our newest member.

2013 Achievement Medal Award Recipient: PIP John Wolffe announced that Arnold Weisgold, D.D.S. will receive AO's highest honor at the 2013 convention. Dr. Weisgold is currently an Adjunct Professor of Periodontics at the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine.

Special thanks to our convention team: Alan and Linda Moltz, Ester Sleutelberg and Steve Ratiner, Phoebe and Peter Gross, Wendy and Steve Marsh, Elaine and Paul Richman, Avi Wurman, David Schneider, Gary Scharoff, Larry Vinegar and Marcy Schwartzman, Michael and Wendy Spektor, Fred Margolis, Larry and Karoll Zabner, Robert and Talby Gelb, Edward and Elaine Epstein, PIP Lionell Greenberg, PIP Dan and Arlene Uditsky, Lee Weisbard and David Rosenthal, Sy and Edie Evans, and Jamie Feldman plus all the GOHI and registration volunteers.

The 2013 AO convention will take place at the Harbor Beach Marriott, Fort Lauderdale and the Holland America Eurodam. The 2014 convention will take place in Israel.

Photos will be posted on the AO website. For questions, please contact Heidi Weber at 301-738-6400 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


become a member

Alpha Omega Members

 Thank you for being an AO member!


go to secure site



AO Students

Shop the AO Online Store

50 W. Edmonston Drive #206 
Rockville, MD 20852 USA

Toll Free: (877) 368-6326
Direct: (301) 738-6400

Heidi Weber, Executive Director
E-Mail: hweber@ao.org


Join Our Newsletter

Keep up to date with the latest news and events. Just enter your e-mail address below.

Please enter a valid email.


Admin Login

ao bottom logo

© 2017 Alpha Omega International Dental Fraternity
Website by Rooster